University of Lille

World University Rankings 2023
Young University Rankings 2021
European Teaching Rankings 2018
42, rue Paul Duez, Lille, 59000, France

About University of Lille

The University of Lille is a state university located in Lille, France. It is divided into three independent public campuses, each specialising in an academic field. 

The university’s founding dates back to 1562, when the Spanish established the University of Douai. This university later transferred to French hands. It became the University of Lille in 1887, with Louis Pasteur as the first Dean of Science.

Across the university over 20 degrees are taught fully in English. There are also French classes for students wishing to improve their language skills while studying.

Université Lille I is the science and technology campus. It is located in Villeneuve-d'Ascq, near the border with Belgium and just outside of Lille itself. Its five departments and three research labs specialise in areas such as mathematics and information technology.

Lille II, or the Université du Droit et de la Santé de Lille, is where law and health are taught. The campus is based in Ronchin, in the southern part of Lille.

Charles de Gaulle Université – Lille III is home to the humanities, arts, social sciences and administration. It is also located in Villeneuve-d'Ascq.

The city of Lille is now on the rise. Its quaint old town with its Flemish speakers and its excellent art scenes have started drawing crowds.

University of Lille was first ranked by THE in the 2017 World University Rankings. Prior to that year, two of the universities part of University of Lille were ranked separately: Lille 1 University Science and Technology and Lille 2 University Health and Law.

Explore rankings data for University of Lille

All ranked institutions have an overall score and 4 pillar scores. However for each pillar, only institutions ranked in the top 500 overall or the top 500 in this pillar have a publicly visible score

Compare universities on their key stats

Key statistics

  • 29.6
    No. of students per staff
  • 14%
    Percentage of International Students
  • 60 : 40
    Student Ratio of Females to Males
  • 75,291
    Number of FTE Students
Based on data collected for the (1) 2023 World University Rankings

Subjects taught at University of Lille

  • Engineering & technology

    • Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
    • Chemical Engineering
    • General Engineering
    • Civil Engineering
    • Electrical & Electronic Engineering
  • Physical sciences

    • Mathematics & Statistics
    • Chemistry
    • Physics & Astronomy
    • Geology, Environmental, Earth & Marine Sciences
  • Computer science

    • Computer Science
  • Social sciences

    • Sociology
    • Communication & Media Studies
    • Politics & International Studies (incl Development Studies)
    • Geography
  • Business & economics

    • Economics & Econometrics
    • Accounting & Finance
    • Business & Management
  • Education

    • Education
  • Arts & humanities

    • Archaeology
    • Art, Performing Arts & Design
    • Architecture
    • Languages, Literature & Linguistics
    • History, Philosophy & Theology
  • Psychology

    • Psychology
  • Clinical, pre-clinical & health

    • Other Health
    • Medicine & Dentistry
  • Law

    • Law
  • Life sciences

    • Sport Science
    • Biological Sciences