More about University of Cyprus

The University of Cyprus is a public institution founded in 1989, which opened its doors to its first 486 undergraduate students in 1992.

Today, the institution has almost 7,000 students and competition for places is said to be fierce, with undergraduate admission by entrance examinations run by the Cyprus Ministry of Education and Culture.

Students are taught in eight faculties encompassing humanities, medicine, pure and applied sciences, social sciences and education, economics and management, engineering, letters, plus a graduate school. Programmes are taught mainly in Greek.

Within the eight faculties are 22 departments and 10 research units covering the fields of archaeology, sustainable energy, applied neuroscience, molecular medicine, international water research, economics, gender studies, intelligent systems and networks, banking and finance, and oceanography.

As a young institution, the University of Cyprus is developing a reputation for solid research, and its academics are already world-renowned in certain fields. In 2010, for example, one of its professors, Christopher Pissarides was awarded the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences, for his “ analysis of markets with search frictions”.

In terms of research resources, the university library has an extensive collection of 620,000 titles, and there are plans to relocate it to the new university campus – known as the Stelios Ioannou Learning Resource Center, designed by the French architect Jean Nouvel – in 2017.

The main campus is located in Nicosia, the island's central capital, and students are attracted by the university’s proximity to the Mediterranean and the Cyprus’ year-round mild climate.


Key statistics

  • 7,025
    Number of Students
  • 22.5
    Student to Staff Ratio
  • 8%
    Percentage of International Students
  • 69 : 31
    Student Ratio of Females to Males
Collected during World University Rankings on 28th Sep 2016

Where we are


1 Panepistimiou Avenue Aglantzia