University of California, Berkeley: Haas

2220 Piedmont Avenue, Berkeley, California, 94720-1900, United States

About University of California, Berkeley: Haas

The Haas School of Business, also known as the Walter A Haas School of Business or Berkeley Haas is one of 14 schools and colleges at the University of California, Berkeley (UC Berkeley), which is part of the University of California System.

It was the first business school at a public university in the US when it opened in 1898, and the university was just 30 years old, having been founded in 1868. Then it was known as the College of Commerce.

The full-time Berkeley MBA programme takes two years. Current students may apply to an exchange programme for a semester with Columbia Business School, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, IESE Business School, HEC Paris, or London Business School.

The Haas School of Business has various research institutions and centres, such as the Institute for Business Innovation (IBI), the Fisher Center for Business Analytics and the Haas@Work Program.

The University of California, Berkeley, a public research university, is regarded as one of the most prestigious state universities in the US.

Notable alumni of the business school include a CEO of Citibank Barbara Desoer, the founder of Shazam Chris Barton, the founder of Indiegogo Danae Ringelmann, Supreme Court Justice Lidia Stiglich, and a chief innovation officer at USAID Maura O’Neill. Haas has also been home to two winners of the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economics: John C. Harsanyi was a co-recipient for his application of game theory to economics; Oliver Williamson was a co-recipient for his analysis of economic governance.