Rawalpindi Medical University

Tipu Road, Rawalpindi, Punjab, 46000, Pakistan

About Rawalpindi Medical University

Rawalpindi Medical University was originally established in 1974 as Rawalpindi Medical College. When it first opened it was affiliated with the University of Punjab, then in 2003 it partnered with the University of Health Sciences Lahore. In 2017 the Punjabi government granted the college independent university status and it became Rawalpindi Medical University.

The university has established partnerships with three teaching hospitals from the public sector: Holy Family Hospital, DHQ Hospital and Bhutto Hospital. These affiliations were designed to enrich undergraduate and postgraduate medical education and training.

Outside of the classroom students are encouraged to get involved in the various student clubs and societies that the university offers. These include Rawalians Sports Society, Rawalians Literary Society and Rawalians Student Research Society.

In 2019 the university opened the Office of Research, Innovation and Commercialisation as the focal point of all research related activities. The university’s research focuses primarily on medical developments and improvements in the health sector. Students also contribute to the university’s research projects by publishing their work in the Student Journal of Rawalpindi Medical University.

As its name suggests, the university is based in Rawalpindi, a city in the Punjab province of Pakistan. Rawalpindi was the capital of Pakistan for 10 years between 1959 and 1969. The city is twinned with the country’s current capital, Islamabad, due to their strong economic and social connections. Rawalpindi has a rich history, which has been preserved in a number of ancient temples and other sites such as Azad Kashmir and Rohtas Fort, both of which attract increasing numbers of tourists every year.

Subjects taught at Rawalpindi Medical University

Where we are