More about Indiana University-South Bend

The third largest campus within the Indiana University system, this public coeducational institution was originally established as an extension of Indiana University Bloomington but today Indiana University South Bend (IUSB) stands as an independent institution serving more than 7,500 students.

The university was established in 1916, moving to its current campus on the St Joseph River in 1961. It has expanded significantly to accommodate increasing numbers of students, the majority of whom come from Indiana and the nearby state of Michigan.

There are seven different academic schools at IUSB – the School of Education, the Vera Z. Dwyer College of Health Sciences, the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, the Social Work school, the Judd Leighton School of Business and Economics, the Raclin School of the Arts, and Purdue Polytechnic.

Between them they offer more than 100 different academic programs at both undergraduate and graduate level.

The 80-acre IUSB campus is home to 11 buildings, and a bridge across the St Joseph River permits access to the university’s athletic fields.The university also established the IUSB Elkhart Center in 2007, which is comprised of 13 classrooms, a science lab and a computer lab.

There are more than 100 student organisations including the Titan Group, a student organisation that puts on regular entertainment events on-campus.

There is university-affiliated housing available for 400 students and the campus hosts around 100 arts events every year. 

Among famous former IUSB students are science-fiction author Michael Kube-McDowell, Hon. Melissa S. May, a judge on the Indiana Court of Appeals, and Shelli Yoder, who was crowned Miss Indiana in 1992.

Key statistics

  • $18,081
    Out-of-state Tuition and Fees
  • $8,596
    On-campus Room and Board
  • $33,600
    Salary after 10 years
Collected during US Rankings on 10th Oct 2016

Where we are


1700 Mishawaka Ave
South Bend, IN 46615
United States