More about Hacettepe University

Founded in 1967, Hacettepe University is a public institution located in the Turkish capital city of Ankara. It is considered to be among the best medical schools in the country.

The institution is organised across 14 faculties in Communication, Dentistry, Economics and Administrative Science, Education, Engineering, Fine Arts, Health Sciences, Law, Letters, Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Science, and Sport Science.

There are an additional 14 graduate schools and institutes, two applied schools, one conservatory, five vocational schools and 104 research and application centres within the university estate.

Hacettepe has two main campus, one in Ankara’s old town of Ankara, which houses the Medical Centre, and the second in the Beytepe area of the city, with over 1,000 acres of woodland. Other campuses are located in Beşevler, Polatlı and Sincan.

Almost 50,000 students attend the university, which is supported by 3,600 academic staff. Hacettepe offers more than 150 undergraduate degree programmes and over 200 programmes for postgraduates.

The university encourage values of respect, aesthetics, participation and farsightedness among students and staff, as well as a willingness to pave the way for change and development.

The emblem of the university, designed in the 1960s by a second year medical student, is a stag - symbolic of a Hittite deity - which incorporates the letters ‘H’ and ‘T’ for Hacettepe.

Key statistics

  • 38,109
    Number of Students
  • 18.2
    Student to Staff Ratio
  • 5%
    Percentage of International Students
  • 57 : 43
    Student Ratio of Females to Males
Collected during World University Rankings on 28th Sep 2016

Where we are


2, Beytepe Mah
Beytepe Yerleşkesi
06800 Çankaya Ankara