Algoma University

1520 Queen Street East Sault Ste, Marie, Ontario, P6A 2G4, Canada

About Algoma University

Algoma University (often shortened to Algoma U or Algoma) is an undergraduate-only public university in Ontario Canada. It was first established as Algoma College in 1965 as part of an affiliation with Laurentian University in Sudbury, Canada.

It achieved full university status in 2008 and now offers over 30 academic programmes through three faculties: Faculty of Sciences, Faculty of Social Sciences and Faculty of Humanities.

Students have the opportunity to undertake research at the university through work placements, the Undergraduate Student Research Awards and the Experiential Learning Hub among others.

There is a wide range of clubs and extracurricular activities that students can get involved with ranging from computer science club, queer coffee club, table top games club and cricket club among others.

There are three campuses: Sault Ste. Marie, Timmins and Brampton. Sault Ste. Marie is the the main campus and is located in the heart of the Great Lakes. The Brampton campus is in the lively city of Brampton in Greater Toronto. This is where college graduates and mature students will be able to study for the accelerated Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA) degrees Timmins is located on the Northern College of Applied Arts and Technology campus in Northern Ontario and offers bachelor's degrees in social work and community development.

Shingwauk Hall, which is an integral part of Algoma University, was first set up in 1873 as a residential school for First Nations children (Chief Shingwauk was an Anishinaabe chief, who was instrumental in the establishment of the Garden River First Nation near Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario). It is currently used to house various classrooms, as well as administrative and faculty offices.