More academics chosen by Labour

June 6, 1997

ACADEMICS were favoured with more key posts by the Government this week. Two of the four new members of the Bank of England's monetary policy committee are professors. Charles Goodhart, professor of banking and finance at the London School of Economics, and Willem Buiter, professor of macroeconomics at Cambridge University, join the team responsible for ensuring economic growth. Christopher Allsop, an economics fellow at New College, Oxford, will replace Sir David Simon on the Bank of England's ruling body, the Court.

Tim Brighouse, director of education in Birmingham and visiting professor at Keele University, has been appointed vice chair of the new Standards Task Force to work with Chris Woodhead, chief inspector of schools.

Register to continue

Why register?

  • Registration is free and only takes a moment
  • Once registered, you can read 3 articles a month
  • Sign up for our newsletter
Please Login or Register to read this article.


Featured jobs