Honorary degrees

July 10, 1998

University of Wales

LLD: Edward Heath, member of parliament for Old Bexley and Sidcup, former prime minister (1970-74); Jacques Santer, president of the European Commission since 1995, prime minister of Luxembourg (1984-94).

University of Sunderland

DLitt: Ridley Scott, film director (films include Blade Runner, Alien, Thelma and Louise) and graduate of the Royal College of Art; Bryan Sanderson, managing director (chemicals) of British Petroleum and governor of the London School of Economics.

The American International University in London

Honorary degrees were presented to the following on May 14: John Bond, group chief executive and chairman-designate of HSBC Holdings plc; Joseph Rotblat, physicist and Nobel laureate in 1995 for his campaign for peaceful uses of nuclear energy.

Nijenrode University

Honorary doctorates in business administration have been awarded to: Don Jacobs, dean of the J. L. Kellogg graduate school of management, Northwestern University; Aad Jacobs, former president of the ING Group.

Please Login or Register to read this article.

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments