Honorary Degrees

February 13, 1998

University of East London

DUniv: Issa Shivji, professor of law at the University of Dar es Salaam; Hans Hoxter, pioneer in the training and education of counsellors; David Austin, rose breeder; Rasheed Araeen, sculptor; Peter Blower, director of scientific support programmes in strategic product development at SmithKline Beecham and former chairman of the university's board of governors; Neil Shaw, chairman of Tate and Lyle plc; Allen Sheppard, life peer and chairman of London First and co-chair of the London Pride Partnership; Kenneth Jones, head of education and training for Ford of Europe; Ruth Rendell, life peer and crime novelist.

University of Hertfordshire

DLitt: Peter Kellner, political commentator for the Observer and the Evening Standard; Stan Tracey, jazz pianist and composer.

DSc: Sir Harry Kroto, Nobel laureate for chemistry in 1996, Royal Society research professor at the University of Sussex; Alec Moir, chairman of Oscar Faber and former president of the Chartered Institute of Building Services Engineers, vice-chairman of the Construction Industry Council; Barbara Young, life peer, chief executive of the Royal Society for the Protection of Birds; Norman Lindop, director of the former Hatfield Polytechnic, chairman of Herts County Council; Joan Greenwood, midwifery officer in the Department of Health (1984-94); Herbert Laming, former director of social services for Hertfordshire.

LLD: David Pannick, Queen's counsel and recorder, fellow of All Souls College, Oxford.

MSc: Keith Gardner, former principal of Oaklands College; John Guppy, former designer and developer of electro-mechanical and electro-optical systems at British Aerospace, visiting research fellow at the university; Adrienne Finch, education chairman for Europe for the International Society of Radiographers and Radiological Technologists; Frank Baker, former principal of West Herts College of Further Education.

Lancaster University

The management school has awarded an honorary degree to Colin Marshall, chairman of British Airways and president of the Confederation of British Industry.

Loughborough University

DTech: Susan Campbell, chief executive officer of the Youth Sport Trust.

Janus Pannonius University, Hungary

Abby Ghobadian, professor of manufacturing and operations strategy and director of the institute of research and postgraduate studies at Middlesex University's business school has been awarded an honorary doctorate.


DSc: John Monks, general secretary of the TUC; James Grigor, former chairman of Central Manchester's development corporation.

DEng: Alan Cockshaw, life peer and chairman of AMEC.

MSc: David Atack, portrait painter.

Noticeboard is compiled by Lynne Williams. Details Netgazette http://www.thesis.co.uk

Register to continue

Why register?

  • Registration is free and only takes a moment
  • Once registered, you can read 3 articles a month
  • Sign up for our newsletter
Please Login or Register to read this article.


Featured jobs