Glittering prizes

November 16, 2001

Ted Davis , professor of experimental physics at the University of Leicester, has been made an honorary citizen of Nice .

Mark Dyer , a senior circuit judge and honorary recorder of Bristol, has received an honorary degree from the University of the West of England . William Pendry Oliver , formerly head of law at the then Bristol Polytechnic, has received an honorary fellowship.

The Royal Society of Edinburgh has elected three senior honorary officers: Andrew Miller , until recently principal of Stirling University and currently interim executive, has become general secretary; Andy Walker , assistant principal of Heriot-Watt University and professor of modern optics, has become vice-president of the society; and David Wilson , former governor of Hong Kong, has become convener of the international committee.

The Royal Northern College of Music has conferred an honorary fellowship on the conductor Zubin Mehta .

Coventry University is conferring Pete Waterman , one of the most famous names in popular music, with an honorary doctorate of business administration.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments