Glittering prizes

November 2, 2001

University College Worcester has awarded honorary degrees to: Waqar Azmi , chief executive of the Worcestershire Racial Equality Council; and Debbie Horsfield , who writes drama for theatre and television.

Sir Christopher Frayling , rector of the Royal College of Art, has been awarded the Royal Society of Arts' bicentenary medal .

The Institute of Physics has awarded honorary fellowships to: Hiroshi Kamimura , of the University of Tokyo; Sir Martin Rees , astronomer royal and Royal Society research professor at the University of Cambridge; and Sir Denys Wilkinson , former vice-chancellor of the University of Sussex.

Ian Postlethwaite , head of engineering at the University of Leicester, has been awarded the Sir Harold Hartley medal by the council of the Institute of Measurement and Control .

Please login or register to read this article.

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments

Most commented

Recent controversy over the future directions of both Stanford and Melbourne university presses have raised questions about the role of in-house publishing arms in a world of commercialisation, impact agendas, alternative facts – and ever-diminishing monograph sales. Anna McKie reports

3 October


Featured jobs

Knowledge Exchange Manager, Innovate

Royal Holloway, University Of London

Accommodation Assistant

Edinburgh Napier University

Customer Service Advisor

Bpp University

Medical Research Specialist, Anatomy

United Arab Emirates University