Glittering prizes

August 31, 2001

Sir Graeme Davies , principal of Glasgow University, has been appointed chair of the Council for the Central Laboratory of the Research Councils .

Goldsmiths College, University of London, is to award honorary fellowships to: Alan Bevan , fellow of Queen Mary and the school of pharmacy, University of London; Michael Craig-Martin , emeritus professor of fine art at the college; Sir Paul Girolami , former chairman of Glaxo Holdings; Stanley Glasser , composer and first emeritus professor of music at the college; Dorothy Wedderburn , emeritus professor of industrial sociology and senior research fellow, Imperial College; Dame Cicely Saunders , founder and president of St Christopher's Hospice, South London.

Dame Cicely also receives an honorary degree from the University of Wales . Others go to: Sir John Daniel , assistant director-general for education at Unesco and former vice-chancellor of the Open University (LLD); Tanni Grey-Thomson , Olympic gold medallist and development officer of UK Athletics (LLD); David Trimble , leader of the Ulster Unionist Party (LLD); Dafydd Wigley , member of the Assembly of Wales, president of Mencap in Wales (LLD); Marcel Crochet , rector of the University of Louvain (DSc); Sir David Davies , former vice-chancellor of Loughborough University (DSc); Daniel Huws , former keeper of the National Library of Wales (MA); Dafydd Hughes , local historian and author (MA); Gwilym Humphreys , pioneer in bilingual education (MA); Alice Williams , lecturer in religious studies (MA); T. Gwynn Jones , musical director of the Gorsedd (MMus); Frederick Kingdom , vice-president of the University of Wales, Swansea (MA).

Nathan Efron , professor in optometry and neuroscience at the University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology, has been awarded the Gold Medal of the British Contact Lens Association .

The Fonds National de la Recherche in Belgium has awarded a prize for research into common complications of pregnancy to Graham Burton , of the department of anatomy, University of Cambridge, and his collaborator, Eric Janiaux , reader at the Royal Free Hospital and University College London.

The Royal College of Anaesthetists has elected Ronald Jones , professor of veterinary anaesthesia in the University of Liverpool, to an honorary fellowship; he is the first veterinary anaesthetist to receive the award.

Tim Berners-Lee , inventor of the worldwide web has received the first Royal Academy of Engineering Whittle medal , named after Britain's jet engine genius Sir Frank Whittle.

Ronald Pethig , co-founder of Aura Systems Inc and scientist at the University of Wales, Bangor, has received the first Herman P. Schwan Award for achievement in bioimpedence.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments