Glittering prizes

January 19, 2001

David Bates , Edwards professor of medieval history at the University of Glasgow, has been awarded an honorary doctorate by the University of Caen for his contribution to medieval Norman and Anglo-Norman history.

Cliff Burrows , Hebron and Medlock dean of engineering and design at the University of Bath, has been awarded an honorary doctorate by the Technical University of Aachen , Germany.

Donald Grierson , professor of plant physiology at the University of Nottingham, has been awarded the Bertebes prize for 2001 by the Royal Swedish Academy of Agriculture and Forestry .

Leon Lucy , visiting professor in the department of physics at Imperial College, London, has been awarded the Gold Medal of the Royal Astronomical Society .

Robert Gordon University has awarded honorary degrees to: Stewart Milne , chairman and chief executive of the Stewart Milne Group and Zygmunt Tyszkiewicz , former secretary general of Union of Industrial and Employers' Confederations of Europe.

Ken Overshott , principal of the University of Wales College, Newport, has been awarded an honorary professorship by Kutaisi State University in Georgia.

Jonathan Ive , IMac designer and vice-president of industrial design at Apple Computer, has been awarded an honorary degree from the University of Northumbria .

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments