Glittering prizes

April 7, 2000

The Open University has awarded honorary degrees to: Talbot D'Alemberte, professor of law at Florida State University (Dr); Sydney Silverstone, former tutor-counsellor at the university (MA); Charles Reed, chancellor of California

State University (Dr); David Hawkridge, who developed the OU's international MA in open and distance learning (emeritus professor); George Rzevski, Lucas professor of engineering design (emeritus professor); Harold Rosen, professor emeritus of the Institute of Education (Dr); Mora Dickson, founder of VSO and CSV (Dr); Leslie Pearce, one of the OU's first science faculty appointments (MA); David Ingram, chairman of the Darwin Initiative for the Survival of Species (Dr); Grace Nichols, poet-in-residence at the Tate Gallery, London (Dr); Roger Smith, chairman of the National Fruit Collection Advisory Committee (Dr); Hywel Ceri Jones, senior adviser of the European Policy Centre, Brussels (Dr); Anthony O'Reilly, chairman of the H. J. Heinz Company (Dr); Declan McGonagle, director of the Irish Museum of Modern Art (MA); Wilfred Wood, Bishop of Croydon (Dr); Margaret Lochrie, chief executive of the Pre-School Learning Alliance (MA); Geoff Busby, honorary fellow of the British Computer Society (Dr); Joan Christodoulou, author (Dr); John Humphrys, presenter of Radio 4's Today programme (Dr); Frances Gibb, legal editor of The Times (MA); Sir Kenneth Bloom, former head of the Northern Ireland civil service (Dr); Raymond Piper, portrait painter (MA); Norman Smith, member of the OU council (Dr); Ann Cotton, founder of Camfed, which increases access to education for girls in Africa (MA); Anna Ford, BBC news presenter (Dr); Jack Jones, president of the National Pensioners Convention (Dr); Joe Clinch, former senior manager at the OU (Dr); Christine Wareham, former head of the OU survey office (MA); Derek Pugh, former professor of systems at the OU (emeritus professor); Chris Batten, former OU academic registrar (MA); Peter Eigen, founder and board chairman of Transparency Internation (Dr); Jon Snow, Channel 4 News anchorman (Dr); Anne Watts, head of diversity and employee support, HSBC Bank (Dr).

Broadcaster Sir David Attenborough, clinical biochemist Dame Barbara Clayton and double Nobel prizewinner for chemistry Fred Sanger have been awarded honorary fellowships by the Institute of Biology for their outstanding contributions to biological sciences.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments