First steps taken towards appointing ERC governing body

January 27, 2005

Brussels, 26 Jan 2005

Science and Research Commissioner Janez Potocnik has announced the names of those people from the research community who will be tasked with identifying potential members of the governing body of the proposed European Research Council (ERC).

The Identification Committee will be chaired by Chris Patten, former EU Commissioner and current Chancellor of Oxford University in the UK. He will be joined by: Nobel prizewinner Professor Erwin Neher; Dr Catherine Bréchignac from the University of Paris South; Professor Jüri Engelbrecht, President of the Estonian Academy of Sciences; and Professor Guido Martinetti from the University of Milan-Biocca.

The group met for the first time on 25 January. The appointment of the ERC's governing body by the committee means that the ERC will remain scientifically independent.

CORDIS RTD-NEWS / © European Communities
Item source: http:/// ALLER=NHP_EN_NEWS&ACTION=D&SESSION=&RCN= EN_RCN_ID:23250

You've reached your article limit.

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments