July 10, 1998

London Institute

Full professorships have been awarded to: Central St Martins College of Art and Design - Malcolm Le Grice, head of research; Caroline Dakers, cultural studies co-ordinator; Wendy Dagworthy, course director of the BA honours course in fashion.

London College of Printing - Ken McMullen, senior lecturer in film and video. Miriam David, dean of research.

University of Bristol

Emeritus professorships have been awarded to: J. A. Burrow, English; J. W. Bradfield, pathology and microbiology; M. P. Furmston, law; P. Haggett, Institute for Advanced Studies; O. T. Jones, biochemistry; W. Robinson, experimental psychology.

The following readers have been promoted to personal chairs:G. Balint-Kurti, chemistry; A. Brewer, economics; M. Brown, anatomy; S. Burgess, economics; I. Cuthill, biological sciences; L. Hall, biochemistry; P. Miller, biological sciences; P. Smart, geographical sciences; P. Williams, theology and religious studies.

T. Feest, clinical reader in medicine, has been awarded an honorary chair from August 1.

University of Ulster

Former senior lecturers appointed to professorships include: Mary Chambers, mental health nursing, school of health sciences; Monica McWilliams, women's studies, school of social and community sciences; Pauline Murphy, social inclusion, director of the women's opportunities unit and co-ordinator of the international activities for the school of social and community science.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments