Baltic states strike deal on mutual degree recognition

Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania agreement is part of Europe-wide shift towards mutual recognition

June 15, 2018
Source: istock

The Baltic states of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania have agreed to grant automatic mutual recognition of each other's higher education qualifications.

Mailis Reps, Estonia’s minister of education and research, has signed an agreement with her Latvian and Lithuanian counterparts, designed, she said, to make it easier for students to move between the countries while “increas[ing] academic mobility, mak[ing] our higher education system more open and international and also support[ing] labour mobility”.

The agreement covers any academic degrees and professional diplomas, as well as diplomas conferred at the end of secondary school, awarded after the implementation of the deal.

This means that universities can now accept students and recruit faculty from other Baltic countries without needing to consult their local information and academic recognition centre.

Part of the broader plan to achieve automatic recognition of qualifications right across Europe by 2020, the new arrangements are similar to those already in place in the Benelux countries of Belgium, the Netherlands and Luxembourg.

Register to continue

Why register?

  • Registration is free and only takes a moment
  • Once registered, you can read 3 articles a month
  • Sign up for our newsletter
Please Login or Register to read this article.

Related articles