Arts institute renamed

April 9, 2004

The London Institute is to be renamed the University of the Arts London after the Privy Council approved the change. It will comprise five colleges: Camberwell College of Arts, Central Saint Martins College of Art and Design, Chelsea College of Art, the London College of Communication and the London College of Fashion. The institute is the first to gain university status in the specialist arts since the government published its proposals to allow their establishment. In the past three months, Kingston University and the Wimbledon School of Art have announced plans to establish a joint Centre for Art and Design.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments