February 13, 1998

Ruskin College, Oxford

Jim Durcan, management consultant, academic and Labour Party supporter, has been appointed principal of the college and will take up his post on Monday (February 16).

The British Council

The council has appointed the following as vice-chairs: Virginia Bottomley, MP for Surrey South West and a member of the Foreign Affairs Select Committee; Patricia Hewitt, MP for Leicester West and a member of the Social Security Select Committee. The following are members of the board: Lesley Abdela, Gordon Beveridge, Michael Bichard, Christopher Bland, Robert Boucher, David Crystal, Roger Elliott, John Hemming, John Kerr, Tim Lankester, Penelope Lively, Janet Morgan, David Renton, Timothy Rix, John Roberts, Emma Rothschild, Dennis Stevenson, Eric Sunderland, John Vereker, David Wilson.


The Association of University Legal Practitioners elected the following: inaugural chairman - Brian Harvey, professor (University of Birmingham); honorary secretary -Carolyn Pike (University of Birmingham); honorary treasurer - Sue Cook (University of Bath).

University of Brighton

Linda Lang, head of the department of podiatry, has been appointed head of the new school of health care professions.

University of Hull

The following have been appointed as representatives on the management board of the European Maritime Institute in Hull project (a partnership between Hull City Council and the university): John Parkes, former chief executive of Humberside County Council, member of the university's governing council and chairman of its personnel committee; Ekkehard Kopp, pro-vice-chancellor, former senior lecturer and dean of the school of mathematics; Trevor Newsom, director of the university's research support office.

Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh

James Petrie, professor of clinical pharmacology and head of the department of medicine and therapeutics at the University of Aberdeen, has been elected president.

National Heritage Memorial Fund

Eric Anderson, rector of Lincoln College, Oxford and former headmaster of Eton, succeeds Jacob Rothschild as chairman of the National Heritage Memorial Fund.

Noticeboard is compiled by Lynne Williams. Details Netgazette

Register to continue

Why register?

  • Registration is free and only takes a moment
  • Once registered, you can read 3 articles a month
  • Sign up for our newsletter
Please Login or Register to read this article.


Featured jobs