Honorary degrees

August 30, 1996

UNIVERSITY OF NOTTINGHAM DLitt: Susan MacGregor, journalist and broadcaster; Christine Bowering, headmistress of Nottingham High School for Girls ; Malcolm Bradbury, author; James Holt, professor of medieval history, Fitzwilliam College, Cambridge; Delia Smith, cookery writer and broadcaster; DSc: John Mallard, former professor of medical physics, University of Aberdeen; Thomas Blundell, former chief executive of the Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council.

MD: Keith Peters, Regius professor of physics, University of Cambridge.

LLD: Julia Neuberger, rabbi and broadcaster; Michael Angus, chairman of Boots Company plc; Harry Djanogly, patron of the arts and benefactor, Peter North, vice chancellor, University of Oxford; James Lester, MP for Broxstowe.

MA: John Cunningham, former bursar at the university.

Edmund Cadbury Hambly, former president of the Institution of Civil Engineers, was posthumously awarded a DSc.


Honorary doctorates were presented to: Ted Cullinan, architect; Patrick Doyle, leader of Kingston upon Hull City Council and former lecturer at the university; John Hanson, director general of the British Council; John Daniel, vice chancellor of the Open University.


Honorary degrees were conferred on: Michael Bett, first civil service commissioner and pro chancellor of the university, director of the English Shakespeare Company; Robin Butler, secretary of the cabinet and head of the home civil service; Ena Evans, headmistress of King Edward VI High School for Girls, member of the university council and chairman of the Guild Board, former president of the West Midlands branch of the Mathematics Association; Douglas Johnson, emeritus professor of French history of University College London; Lionel Charles Knights, former chief constable of West Midlands Police and member of the university's council; Patrick Lawrence, former senior partner in Wragge and Co and member of the council, member of the council of Birmingham Chamber of Commerce (1989-93); Malcolm Skillicorn, vice charman of the university council and chairman of University Hospital Birmingham NHS Trust; Bruce Tanner, former chairman and chief executive of Horizon Travel plc; Jim Tunley, former director of finance and business services at the university; Ed Wallis, chief executive of PowerGen plc and a member of the university council; Patrick Welch, chairman of Grimmitt Holdings Ltd, high sheriff of the West Midlands (1987-88), chairman of the Friends of Birmingham Museums and Art Galleries.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments