Honorary degrees

December 22, 1995

NOTTINGHAM TRENT UNIVERSITY. DBA: Michael Bishop, chairman of Airlines of Britain Holdings plc.

DDes: Jeff Banks, fashion designer and TV presenter; Richard Rowan, president of the Savannah College of Art and Design.

DEcon: Wolfgang Weber, rector of Paderborn University, Germany.

DEng: Alan Rudge, deputy group managing director, British Telecommunications plc.

DSc: David Browning, president of the Institute of Biomedical Science; Christopher Evans, biotechnology entrepreneur; Peter Williams, chairman and chief executive of Oxford Instruments plc.

DTech: Michael Romans, president of the Chartered Institute of Building.

LLD: Michael Latham, chairman of the Construction Industry Board.

MEcon: Vernon Gapper, former lord mayor of Nottingham; Harry Twells, international trade consultant.

MEd: Arthur Foster, former academic registrar; Doug Scott, mountaineer.

MSc: David Hoar, quantity surveying practice manager with Nottinghamshire County Council.


DLitt: Rosemary Hartill, radio and TV broadcaster and journalist.

DSc: Christopher Evans, biotechnologist and businessman.

MA: Jean Smith, former honorary tutor in social work and president of the Hull Soroptomists International.


DTech: Terence Beckett, deputy chairman of the Central Electricity Generating Board.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments