Honorary degrees

August 4, 1995

UNIVERSITY OF YORK. DUniv: Carmen Callil, founder of Virago Press and managing director of Chatto and Windus (1982-93); Margaret Drabble, writer and editor of the fifth edition of The Oxford Companion to English Literature; John Hurst, archaeologist and expert on medieval pottery; John Langton, artist; Michael Thompson, historian and former director of the Institute of Historical Research; Douglas Shortridge, chairman of the Yorkshire Cancer Research Campaign; Fanny Waterman, founder of the Leeds International Pianoforte Competition; Richard Wheway, former financial director of the Halifax Building Society and member of the university's council.

UNIVERSITY OF KENT AT CANTERBURY. DCL: John Swire, honorary president and director, John Swire and Sons Ltd, and a member of the university's council.

DLitt: Ralph Steadman, cartoonist, illustrator and writer.

DMus: Trevor Pinnock, harpsichordist, conductor and director of The English Concert.

DSc: John Cornforth, director of Shell Research (1962-72); Helen Sharman, astronaut.

MA: Wallace Harvey, historian, founder and president of the Whitstable Museum and Whitstable Historical Society.

UNIVERSITY OF HULL. DLitt: Douglas Dunn, professor of English at St Andrews, poet and writer; Nicholas Roeg, film director; Keith Thomas, president of Corpus Christi College, Oxford and of the British Academy.

DMus: Gerald Gifford, professor and head of postgraduate academic studies at the Royal College of Music, London.

DSc: Swalay Kasenally, Minister for Energy, Water Resources and Postal Services in Mauritius; Bernard Neumann, former head of pure mathematics at the Australian National University.

LLD: Datuk Amar Leonard Linggi Tun Jugah, patron of the arts in Sarawak.

MA: Clare Taylor, cricketer and footballer; Jean Smith, former honorary tutor in social work and president of the Hull Soroptomists International.

UNIVERSITY OF READING. DPhil: Stephen Burman, partner in Messrs Smith-Woodley, chairman of the College of Estates Management.

DSc: Kenneth Edwards, vice chancellor of the University of Leicester; Frank Lampl, chairman of the Bovis Construction Group.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments