Honorary degrees

July 7, 1995

QUEEN'S UNIVERSITY BELFAST. LLD: Jacques Delors, former president of the European Commission; Fredrik Eaton, Canadian high commissioner in the United Kingdom (1994); John Hume, SDLP MP.

DLitt: Michael Longley, poet and winner of the Eric Gregory Award for Poetry and the Commonwealth Poetry Prize.

DSc: Robert Wilson, professor of astronomy, University College, London; Allen McClay, chairman of the Galen Group of Companies.

DSSc: Thomas Smout, historiographer royal for Scotland, director of the centre of advanced historical studies at University of St Andrews; Patrick Kinder, chief executive of Eastern Health and Social Services Board.

DSc(Ed): Joseph Cooper, former secretary and chairman of the Workers Education Association's NI district and former president of the Trades Council.

DUniv: Phil Coulter, composer, songwriter and record producer; Joyce McCartan, founder of Mornington Enterprises.

KEELE UNIVERSITY. DLitt: Richard Hoggart, author and former Warden of Goldsmith's College; Bernard Williams, professor of moral philosophy at Oxford University; Margaret Spurr, former head of Bolton School, Girls' Division.

LLD: Michael Mansfield, QC.

DSc: Magdi Yacoub, consultant cardiothoracic surgeon at Harefield Hospital; Martin Rees, Astronomer Royal.

Please login or register to read this article.

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments


Featured jobs