Honorary degrees

October 11, 1996

RUSSIAN ACADEMY OF SCIENCES David Dilks, vice chancellor of the University of Hull, has been awarded an honorary degree by the academy in recognition of his work on the history of 19th and 20th centuries and as president of the International Committee for the History of the Second World War.

UNIVERSITY OF YORK Doctor of the university was conferred on the following: Peter Barclay, chairman of the Social Security Advisory Committee (1984-93) and chairman of the inquiry into income and wealth undertaken by the Joseph Rowntree Foundation; Paul Butzer, professor and leader of a mathematics group in Europe at the Rheinisch-Westfalich Technische Hochschule in Aachen; Sherban Cantacuzino, architect and secretary of the Royal Fine Art Commission since 1979;

Jacques Delors, president of the European Commission (1985-94); John Habgood, archbishop of York (1983-95), member of the university's court and council and a pro-chancellor; Anne McLaren, scientist, dame of the British Empire, foreign secretary of the Royal Society, member of the Warnock Committee on Human Fertilisation and Embryology; Bob Reid, chairman of the Further Education Funding Council Quality Assessment Committee and chancellor of Robert Gordon University, former chairman of Shell UK, British Rail and London Electricity, council member of the Confederation of British Industry; Johan Sundberg, head of the music group at Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments