Honorary Degrees

September 5, 1997

University of Leeds DEng: Gerald DiPiazza, senior vice president of M/A-COM Inc, he also helped design and build TELSTAR.

DLitt: Nayantara Sahgal, novelist and political journalist, Indian delegate to the United Nations, winner of the Sinclair fiction prize and the Commonwealth writers' prize; Douglas Jefferson, professor of English literature at the university (1970-77); LLD: Harold "Dickie" Bird, former Test umpire, founding member of the Independent International Panel of Umpires (1993) and author of books on cricket; John Hougham, chairman of the Advisory Conciliation and Arbitration Service since 1993, former director of industrial relations for Ford Europe and director of personnel for Ford UK; William Kilgallon, founder and developer of St Anne's Shelter and Housing Action, Leeds city councillor (1979-92), chairman of Leeds Community and Mental Health Services NHS Trust.

Please login or register to read this article.

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments

Most commented


Featured jobs