Honorary Degree

November 25, 1994

UNIVERSITY OF TEESSIDE DLitt: Peter Townsend, emeritus professor of social policy at the University of Bristol.

LLM: Maurice Sutherland, Labour leader of Cleveland County Council, 1973-77 and 1981-85.

MA: Wendy Craig, actress; Hannah Hauxwell, television personality.

MLitt: Steve Bell, cartoonist.

MSc: Alistair Hunter, UK manufacturing services director at Cummins Engine Company Ltd.

THE CHICHESTER INSTITUTE OF HIGHER EDUCATION DLit: Patrick Garland, artistic director of the Chichester Festival Theatre (1981-84) and television/theatre, writer and broadcaster.

SOUTH BANK UNIVERSITY Doctor of Laws: Desmond Mpilo Tutu, archbishop of Cape Town; Emeka Anyaoku, secretary general of the Commonwealth; Allen Sheppard, chairman Grant Metropolitan; Pauline Perry, president of Lucy Cavendish College, Cambridge.

UNIVERSITY OF BRADFORD DLitt: Alan Ayckbourn, playwright and theatre director; Edith Penrose, economist.

DSc: Roger Falconer, associate adviser to the British Council's training design group and head of the department of civil engineering.

LONDON GUILDHALL UNIVERSITY DLitt: Christopher Rowley, television executive and member of the advisory board of the university's Sir John Cass faculty of of arts, design and manufacture.

MA: Robin Buchanan-Dunlop, clerk of the Goldsmiths' Company and chairman of the lead body developing NVQs for the jewellery industry.

Please login or register to read this article.

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments


Featured jobs