October 31, 1997

Queen Mary and Westfield College

Stefan Priebe, professor of psychiatry at Freie University of Berlin, chair of social and community psychiatry; I. Sanderson, Harvard Medical School, Genegal Hospital and Boston Children's Hospital, chair of paediatric gastroenterology; Deborah Ashby, reader at the University of Liverpool, chair of medical statistics.

The following readers have been promoted to professorships: C. Murray, mathematics and astronomy; C. Leedham-Green, pure mathematics; D. Parsons, public policy; S. Ranawake, German; D. Sassoon, comparative European history; G. Thompson, physics. I. Goldshield, professorial fellow, professor of probability theory; and J. Martin, former senior lecturer, professor in neuropathology.

The title of emeritus professor has been conferred upon: G. Williams, history; A. Deyermond, Spanish; P. Clarricoats, electrical and electronic engineering; C. Woods, child health.

The following have been appointed to visiting professorships: Michael Ignatieff, school of English and drama; E. Murphy, J. O'Grady and R. Mackie, school of medicine and dentistry; P. Rainbow and L. Casselton, school of biological sciences; L. Diosi, department of physics; G. Hockham, department of electronic engineering; J. Bernard, centre for commercial law studies.

Harper Adams College

The title of professor has been conferred on Wynne Jones, the first professorship within the college.

University of St Andrews

The following have been appointed to the newly created Bishop Wardlaw chairs, in recognition of their outstanding service to the university: Robert Bartlett, fellow of the British Academy, medieval history; Wilson Sibbett, director of research and fellow of the Royal Society, physics and astronomy; Crispin Wright, Leverhulme personal research professor, logic and metaphysics.

The following professorial titles have been conferred: Richard Byrne,evolutionary psychology; Nigel Dennis, Spanish, formerly at the University of Ottawa; Adrian Gratwick, classical philology; John Hardman Moore, economic theory, a joint appointment with the university and the London School of Economics; Jill Harries, ancient history, former visiting professor at All Souls College; John Harwood, environmental and evolutionary biology; Steven Homans, head of the school of biomedical sciences; Hugh Kennedy, Middle Eastern history; Andrew Pettegree, modern history, director of the Reformation Studies Institute; Ronald Pipe, Christian origins, principal of St.Mary's College; John Walton, reactive chemistry, winner of the Royal Society of Chemistry's Silver Medal, 1994; Andrew Whiten, evolutionary and developmental psychology.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments