April 12, 1996

THE WOLFSON FOUNDATION The winner of the 1995 Wolfson History Prize is H. C. G. Matthew, professor at St Hugh's College Oxford. In recognition of his work Gladstone 1975-1898 (Oxford University Press).

1996 GODEL PRIZE The Godel Prize, awarded by the European Association of Theoretical Computer Science and the Special Interest Group on Algorithms and Computing Theory of the Association for Computing Theory, has been presented to Mark Jerrum and Alistair Sinclair, University of Edinburgh, for their work in theoretical computer science.

ASTON UNIVERSITY Centennial Medals were awarded to: Adrian Cadbury, the university's chancellor; Jasper Carrott, comedian; Doug Ellis, chairman of Aston Villa Football Club; Anne Kenrick; Chris Oakley, group chief executive of Midland Independent Newspapers; Denis Howell, member of the House of Lords and former MP; Bob Taylor, lord-lieutenant of the West Midlands.

ROYAL ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY The following have been awarded Gold Medals for 1996 by the RAS Council: Vera Rubin of the Carnegie Institution, Washington, for her work in optical observations of galaxies, particularly those relating to rotation curves and the existence of dark matter; Kenneth Creer, University of Edinburgh, for his reseach in palaeomagnetism and his leadership of, and dedication to, geophysics both nationally and internationally.

The Eddington Medal was awarded to Alan Guth, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, for his work on the inflationary universe.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments