October 25, 1996

THE ROYAL SOCIETY The recommendations of the council have been approved for the award of three Royal Medals for 1996: A. Wiles, professor of mathematics at Princeton University, United States, in recognition of his achievements in number theory, in particular Fermat's Last Theorem and his achievements in algebraic number theory, particularly the celebrated main conjecture on cyclotomic fields.

J. Heslop-Harrison, former Royal Society research professor at the AFRC Institute of Grassland and Environmental Research, Aberystwyth, in recognition of his pioneering work in plant reproductive biology, in particular the areas of taxonomy and ecology, whole plant physiology, development of sub-cellular systems in somatic and reproductive cells, pollen/stigma interaction and acto/myosin transport systems within the pollen tube.

R. Hinde, former master of St John's College, Cambridge, Royal Society research professor at the University of Cambridge and honourary director of the Medical Research Council development and integration of behaviour group, in recognition of his contributions to the field of animal behaviour and the dominant influence it achieved in the emerging field of ethology.

You've reached your article limit.

Register to continue

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments

Most Commented

James Fryer illustration (27 July 2017)

It is not Luddism to be cautious about destroying an academic publishing industry that has served us well, says Marilyn Deegan

Jeffrey Beall, associate professor and librarian at the University of Colorado Denver

Creator of controversial predatory journals blacklist says some peers are failing to warn of dangers of disreputable publishers

Hand squeezing stress ball
Working 55 hours per week, the loss of research periods, slashed pensions, increased bureaucracy, tiny budgets and declining standards have finally forced Michael Edwards out
Kayaker and jet skiiers

Nazima Kadir’s social circle reveals a range of alternative careers for would-be scholars, and often with better rewards than academia

hole in ground

‘Drastic action’ required to fix multibillion-pound shortfall in Universities Superannuation Scheme, expert warns