December 5, 1997

The British Universities and Colleges Physical Education Association The BUCPEA David Munrow Award in recognition of distinguished services to sports science was presented to Clyde Williams, University of Loughborough, the first professor of sports science in the United Kingdom and founding chairman of the British Association of Sports Science.

American Chemical Society Keith Jennings, emeritus professor in the department of biological sciences at the University of Warwick, is to be the 1998 recipient of the society's Frank H. Field and Joe L. Franklin Award in Mass Spectrometry.

Noticeboard is compiled by Lynne Williams.

For further information see NetGazette at:

You've reached your article limit.

Register to continue

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments

Most Commented

James Fryer illustration (27 July 2017)

It is not Luddism to be cautious about destroying an academic publishing industry that has served us well, says Marilyn Deegan

Hand squeezing stress ball
Working 55 hours per week, the loss of research periods, slashed pensions, increased bureaucracy, tiny budgets and declining standards have finally forced Michael Edwards out
Jeffrey Beall, associate professor and librarian at the University of Colorado Denver

Creator of controversial predatory journals blacklist says some peers are failing to warn of dangers of disreputable publishers

Kayaker and jet skiiers

Nazima Kadir’s social circle reveals a range of alternative careers for would-be scholars, and often with better rewards than academia

hole in ground

‘Drastic action’ required to fix multibillion-pound shortfall in Universities Superannuation Scheme, expert warns