March 7, 1997

Louis Jeantet Prize

The 1997 prize for medicine from the Fondation Louis Jeantet has been awarded to the following: Philip Cohen, professor and director of the Medical Research Council protein phosphorylation unit at the University of Dundee and director designate of the biomedical sciences institute which will open in late 1997; Richard Peto, Imperial Cancer Research professor of medical statistics and epidemiology at the Nuffield department of medicine, University of Oxford; Kim Nasmyth, director of the Institute of Molecular Pathology, Vienna.

St John's College, Durham

Philip Luscombe, director of the Wesley study centre at the college, has been awarded the Templeton Foundation Exemplary Paper Award in Science and Religion for his paper entitled "The Silence of the Equations - the Study of Science and the Practice of Theology".

The Erasmus Prize

The prize, awarded by thePraemium Erasmianum Foundation of the Netherlands for important contributions to European culture has been given for 1996 to W. McNeill, emeritus professorof history at the University of Chicago and Eastman visitingprofessor, who intends to split the prize money between Johan Goudsblom, head of the Amsterdam School of Social Science Research and visiting fellow of All Souls, Oxford, and Andrew Sherratt, ofthe Ashmolean Museum and Institute of Archaeology, University of Oxford.

Register to continue

Why register?

  • Registration is free and only takes a moment
  • Once registered, you can read 3 articles a month
  • Sign up for our newsletter
Please Login or Register to read this article.