Inertia of physics in Nobels

October 15, 1999

Physicists lag behind other British academics in winning Nobel prizes. It is 22 years since a British scientist won the Nobel prize for physics. In economics and medicine, it is three and six years respectively. Chemistry had winners in 1996, 1997 and 1998; and Sir William Golding was the last literature laureate in 1983. See People, page 11

登录 或者 注册 以便阅读全文。




  • 获得编辑推荐文章
  • 率先获得泰晤士高等教育世界大学排名相关的新闻
  • 获得职位推荐、筛选工作和保存工作搜索结果
  • 参与读者讨论和公布评论


Log in or register to post comments


Recent controversy over the future directions of both Stanford and Melbourne university presses have raised questions about the role of in-house publishing arms in a world of commercialisation, impact agendas, alternative facts – and ever-diminishing monograph sales. Anna McKie reports

3 October