More about University of Tasmania

Founded in 1890, the University of Tasmania is the fourth oldest university in Australia.

Initially based in an ornate sandstone building in Queens Domain, Hobart, expansion in the first half of the 20th century led to the relocation of the institution in the 1960s to a purpose-built campus at Sandy Bay, half an hour’s walk from the city.

The picturesque setting of the 100-hectare main campus on the banks of the River Derwent, overlooked by Mount Wellington, makes the University of Tasmania an attractive place to study. It also has specialist satellite hubs based in and around Hobart, including the Conservatorium of Music, the Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies, the Menzies Research Institute and the Tasmanian College of Arts.

Today, the university has a student cohort of around 18,000 and offers study opportunities in nine academic faculties across Tasmania, with additional campuses based at Launceston and Burnie, plus a further two in Sydney.

The Launceston campus is home to the Australian Maritime College, the nation’s world-class research and teaching centre, which hosts the Human Interface Technology Lab – the only such facility in Australia.

Meanwhile, the University of Tasmania’s formidable track record in the field of marine, maritime and Antarctic research has resulted in the institution hosting the National Environmental Science Programme’s Marine Diversity Hub and the Special Research Initiative in the Antarctic Gateway Partnership.

Notable alumni include Tasmania’s first female prime minister, Lara Giddings, and the author and film director Richard Flanagan.

Visit our Research Hub below to learn more about some of our recent research highlights:

Key statistics

  • 14,838
    Number of Students
  • 19.7
    Student to Staff Ratio
  • 18%
    Percentage of International Students
  • 58 : 42
    Student Ratio of Females to Males
Collected during World University Rankings on 28th Sep 2016

Where we are


Churchill Avenue
Sandy Bay
Hobart TAS 7001