More about Pontifical Catholic University of Paraná

The Pontifical Catholic University of Paraná is a major university in Brazil. It is known in Portuguese as the Pontifícia Universidade Católica do Paraná, or PUCPR.

The students of PUCPR are based at five campuses: Curitiba, Sâo José dos Pinhais, Londrina, Maringá and Toledo.

There are nine academic schools at PUCPR: Architecture and Design, Agricultural Sciences and Veterinary Medicine, Communication and Arts, Law, Education and Humanities, Medicine, Business, Polytechnic and Health and Biosciences

Students have the opportunity to spend one or two semesters abroad, studying at one of PUCPR’s partner universities.

PUCPR is the lead in scientific researcher in Paraná, producing a high proportion of all scientific publication in the state. The university has invested heavily in research over recent years and views it as a priority. Innovation PUC Agency, the university innovation centre, explores fields such as agribusiness and educational technology. As a Catholic institution, PUCPR sees research as part of the human quest for truth.

The university is guided by the words of Saint Marcellin Champagnat: “No one can educate a student without loving them”. 

The main campus in Curitaba houses the university’s Center for Cultural Affairs. The centre is responsible for enriching student life on campus and life around the state of Paraná through dance, music, art and festivals.

There is also a sports complex on campus with five sports courts for volleyball, futsal, basketball, tennis and squash, a 2,500-person gymnasium and an Olympic swimming pool.

Key statistics

  • 24,682
    Number of Students
  • 22.3
    Student to Staff Ratio
  • 1%
    Percentage of International Students
  • 53 : 47
    Student Ratio of Females to Males
Collected during World University Rankings on 28th Sep 2016

Where we are


Rua Imaculada Conceição 1155
Curitiba - PR