National University of Córdoba

26–30 th
Latin America Rankings 2017
601-800 th
World University Rankings 2016
Haya de la Torre S/n planta baja, Patio de las Palmeras, Pabellón Argentina, Argentina

National University of Córdoba

More about National University of Córdoba

The National University of Córdoba (UNC) was founded by Jesuits and Dominicans in 1613. It is the oldest university in the country and the fourth founded in America. UNC is free and secular. It is financially dependent on the national government but has autonomy to manage its budget, choose its authorities and dictate its own rules in accordance with the national level. Its origin goes back to 1610 when the Jesuits established the Collegium Maximum (Maximum School). In 1621, Pope Gregory XV, by apostolic brief, gave the Maximum School faculty power to confer degrees, which was ratified by Felipe IV by the Royal Decree of 1622. In 1820, general Juan Bautista Bustos, governor of the province of Córdoba, placed the university in the provincial orbit and finally, in 1856, it was nationalised. In 1918, UNC hosted the University Reform movement that then spread to the whole continent. During its first two centuries of life, UNC offered three senior studies: philosophy, theology and later law. The UNC has 13 faculties offering nearly 300 undergraduate and graduate degrees. There are also 100 academic research centres and services, 25 libraries and 16 museums.

Compare universities on their key stats

Key statistics

  • 1%
    Percentage of International Students
  • 62 : 38
    Student Ratio of Females to Males
  • 22.3
    Student to Staff Ratio
  • 87,926
    Number of Students
Collected during World University Rankings on 22nd Aug 1970

Find a course at National University of Córdoba

Where we are


Haya de la Torre S/n planta baja
Patio de las Palmeras
Pabellón Argentina