Mount Allison University

62 York Street, Sackville, New Brunswick, E4L 1E4, Canada

About Mount Allison University

Mount Allison University (also known as Mount A or MtA) is a primarily undergraduate liberal arts university located in Sackville, New Brunswick, Canada. It was first established in 1843.

The institution is a secular but United Church-affiliated university, named after Charles Frederick Allison, in honour of his gift of land and money. Originally, the college was designed to prepare men for the ministry and to supply education for lay members, but opened a girls' institution in 1854.

Mount Allison offers bachelor's degrees in arts, science, commerce, fine arts, and music, as well as master's degrees in biology and chemistry and biochemistry, and certificates in bilingualism. The university also offers programmes in 20 countries, including semester-long, year-long, or short-term summer programmes.

To date, 55 Mount Allison students have become Rhodes Scholars — one of the best records in the country —many of Canada’s top business, cultural, and community leaders are among the university’s graduates.