Minia University

Cairo-Aswan Road, El-Minia, 61519, Egypt

About Minia University

Minia University was separated from Assuit University in 1976.

It is located in Minya, 245 km south of Cairo on the western bank of the Nile. The name Minya comes from Ancient name Men'at Khufu, meaning the "nursing city of Khufu" and thereby linking it to the Pharaoh Khufu or Cheops, the builder of the Great Pyramid in Giza.

The university is currently comprised of 19 faculties in addition to the Higher Institute of Nursing. Four of these faculties are located off campus; faculties of arts, dentistry, engineering and veterinary medicine.

The other faculties are located on campus, and these are the faculties of education; agriculture; science; Dar Al-Uloum; medicine; fine arts; tourism and hotels; physical education; alsun; nursing; pharmacy; specific education; computer and IT science and arts education.