More about Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee

The Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee is one of India’s oldest universities. Founded in 1847, the institution’s roots lie in the construction of the nearby Ganga Canal, with the university founded to train engineers to carry out the construction work.

Known as Thomason College of Engineering for a century, it was granted university status through the Roorkee University Act of 1948 and renamed the University of Roorkee. In 2001, the national government made it India’s seventh Institute of Technology, and it duly received its current name, IIT Roorkee.

The Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee is one of the nation’s largest technical institutions, with more than 20 academic departments.

IIT Roorkee is well-known for its strong entrepreneurial culture, boasting many industry leaders among its alumni, along with dozens of MPs, state governors and government ministers. 

Situated in Northern India at the foot of the Himalayas, winter temperatures can drop as low as freezing, but average summer temperatures are around 28 °C.

The main campus is located in Roorkee, a relatively small town 175km north east of Delhi. Its 356 acres of greenery include old and new academic departments, a hospital, banks, community centres, three sports centres and accommodation. The smaller campus, housing the Department of Paper Technology, is situated in Saharanpur, some 41km north west. Both have good road and rail links.

A new 10 acre campus is being developed as an extension centre in the nearby city of Greater Noida.

Key statistics

  • 8,134
    Number of Students
  • 14.2
    Student to Staff Ratio
  • 1%
    Percentage of International Students
  • 17 : 83
    Student Ratio of Females to Males
Collected during World University Rankings on 28th Sep 2016

Where we are


Roorkee- Haridwar Highway
Roorkee Uttarakhand 247667