University of London: Abramsky on board

August 14, 2008

A new governance structure has been adopted by the federation of the 19 self-governing colleges that make up the University of London. Jenny Abramsky, director of BBC audio and music, has been appointed the first chairwoman of the University of London's new board of trustees. The board will be the governing body of the federal university and has 14 members - nine external, the vice-chancellor, Sir Graeme Davies, and four heads of colleges. It replaces the university council, which had more than 70 members. Since its first meeting in October 1994, the council has had 259 different members, read 935 reports and considered 1,162 different resolutions. The heads of colleges have been brought together in a collegiate council, chaired by Sir Graeme, which will decide strategy and policy.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments