Tait shortlist revealed

February 4, 2005

Edinburgh University has announced the shortlist for the James Tait Memorial Prize. The shortlisted novels are Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell; Pschoraag by Suhayl Saadi; GB84 by David Peace; Havoc in its Third Year by Ronan Bennett; and The Afterglow by Anthony Cartwright.

Shortlisted biographies are John Clare: A Biography by Jonathan Bate; Eichmann: His Life and Crimes by David Cesarani; Like a Fiery Elephant: The Story of B. S. Johnson by Jonathan Coe; A Life of H. L. A. Hart: The Nightmare and the Noble Dream by Nicola Lacey; Nelson: A Dream of Glory by John Sugden; and Malinowski: Odyssey of an Anthropologist by Michael W. Young.

Winners will be announced in mid-March.

Please login or register to read this article.

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments

Most commented

Recent controversy over the future directions of both Stanford and Melbourne university presses have raised questions about the role of in-house publishing arms in a world of commercialisation, impact agendas, alternative facts – and ever-diminishing monograph sales. Anna McKie reports

3 October


Featured jobs

SETsquared Centre Director

University Of Bristol

Lecturer in Maritime Law, Teaching only

Liverpool John Moores University

AcoRD Officer

University Of Leeds

Marketing and Communication Manager

Heriot-watt University