Paul Ormerod's grouping of universities

May 14, 1999

Finding new ways to measure success

Group 1 This group is split into two clusters - elite and redbrick. There is no ranking of institutions within these clusters.

Elite Cambridge; Oxford; Imperial; LSE; Nottingham; Edinburgh; Bristol; Warwick; Durham; Sheffield; Birmingham; St Andrews; York; Manchester; UCL; Glasgow; Lancaster; SOAS.

Redbrick Leeds; Bath; King's; Cardiff; Newcastle; Exeter; Southampton; Aston; Liverpool; Leicester; Royal Holloway; UMIST; East Anglia; Keele; Loughborough; Ulster; Sussex; Reading; Kent; Stirling; Hull; City; Aberdeen; Aberystwyth; Dundee; Goldsmiths; Surrey; Swansea; QMW; Heriot-Watt; Essex; Bradford; Queen's Belfast; Brunel; Strathclyde; Bangor.

Group 2: New This group contains one cluster of new universities. Among the more established universities, Salford and Lampeter have slipped into the new group.

Sheffield Hallam; Northumbria; Bournemouth; Nottingham Trent; Leeds Met; Plymouth; Glasgow Caledonian; Salford; West of England; Liverpool John Moores; Robert Gordon; Lampeter; Central Lancs; Oxford Brookes; Central England; Portsmouth; Manchester Met; Huddersfield; Hertfordshire; Westminster; Kingston; Wolverhampton; De Montfort; Napier; Brighton; Staffordshire; Middlesex; Derby; Anglia Polytechnic; Coventry; Luton; Lincolnshire and Humberside; Teesside; Glamorgan; Greenwich; London Guildhall; Sunderland; East London; Thames Valley; Paisley; South Bank; Abertay; North London.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments