On the move

June 9, 2000

Robert Stevens, master of Pembroke College, Oxford, has resigned a year earlier than planned for personal reasons and due to fundraising weariness.

The Particle Physics and Astronomy Research Council has appointed three new members: Andrew Lawrence, regius professor of astronomy, University of Edinburgh; Keith Mason, professor of astronomy, University College London; and Dewi Lewis, vice-president, physics, Nycomed Amersham Imaging.

John Pendry, professor of theoretical solid-state physics at Imperial College, has been reappointed for two more years.

New appointments to the Medicines Commission are: Gabrielle Hawksworth, professor of molecular toxicology, University of Aberdeen; Jeffrey Aronson, clinical reader in clinical pharmacology and honorary consultant physician, University of Oxford; Lydia Brown, managing director, Vetrepharm Limited; Susan Bews, medical director, Yamanouchi Pharma Ltd; and Roger Walker, director of pharmaceutical public health, Gwent Health Authority.

Kevin Woods, director of strategy and performance management for the National Health Service in Scotland, has been appointed to Glasgow University's new William R. Lindsay chair of health policy and economic evaluation from August.

Ann Southwood, adult guidance manager for career development, Edinburgh and Lothians, has been appointed principal of Newbattle Abbey College, Midlothian.

Richard James, reader in the school of biological sciences, University of East Anglia, will take up the chair of microbiology in the school of clinical sciences, University of Nottingham, in September.

Register to continue

Why register?

  • Registration is free and only takes a moment
  • Once registered, you can read 3 articles a month
  • Sign up for our newsletter
Please Login or Register to read this article.


Featured jobs