On the move

May 7, 1999

David Mingos, 54, Sir Edward Frankland BP professor of chemistry and dean of the Royal College of Science at Imperial College, London, has been elected principal of St Edmund Hall, Oxford. He has already assumed some duties but will be fully in post by September 1.

He succeeds Stephen Tumim, who resigned last June, two years after taking the post, following disagreements with senior fellows about his role at the college.

Anthony Culyer, 58, professor of economics at York University and vice-chair of North Yorkshire Health Authority, and Parveen Kumar, 56, director of continuing professional development at the Royal College of Physicians and a consultant physician in digestive diseases at St Bartholomew's Hospital, have been appointed to the board of the new National Institute of Clinical Excellence.

Members of the Nice Partners Council, representing organisations in health, welfare and education, are: Donna Covey, Association of Community Health Councils for England and Wales; Joan Hansford, Carers National Association; Jeremy Henley, Long Term Medical Conditions Alliance; Vanessa Bourne, Patients Association; Gill Donovan, Wales Council for Voluntary Action; Roger Coakham, Association of Welsh Community Health Councils; Jenny Stiles, Relatives Association; Barbara Meredith, National Consumer Council; patient representatives Mercy Jeyasingham, Maxine Whitton, Julie Charles and Chi-Chi Ineajunwa; David Somekh, Association of Quality in Healthcare; Patricia Kent, Clinical Audit Association; Marianne Rigg, College of Health; Stephen Thornton, National Health Service Confederation; Michael Bailey, Association of the British Pharmaceutical Industry; Greig Markham, Association of British Healthcare Industries; Mary Edwards, Royal College of Nursing; Sandie Kirkman, Royal College of Midwives; Sue Gregory, Community Practitioners and Health Visitors Association; Deborah Rossiter, Royal College of Speech and Language Therapists; Louise Wallace, British Psychological Society; Susan Wagstaff, Chartered Society of Physiotherapy; Jane Eaton, British Dietetic Association; Irene Ilott, College of Occupational Therapists; Angela Coulter, Faculty of Public Health Medicine; Robert Shaw, Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists; Paul Lelliott, Royal College of Psychiatrists; John Llewellyn Williams, Royal College of Surgeons; Adrian Dickson, Royal College of Radiologists; George Alberti, Royal College of Physicians; Keith Dodd, Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health; Chitra Bharucha, Royal College of Ophthalmologists; Michael Pringle, Royal College of General Practitioners; Stuart Ingram, Royal College of Anaesthetists; J. David Baum, Academy of Medical Royal Colleges; Peter Adnitt, Faculty of Pharmaceutical Medicine; Helen Remington, Royal Pharmaceutical Society; Karen Jennings, Unison; John Chisholm, British Medical Association and John Hunt, British Dental Association.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments