Inertia of physics in Nobels

October 15, 1999

Physicists lag behind other British academics in winning Nobel prizes. It is 22 years since a British scientist won the Nobel prize for physics. In economics and medicine, it is three and six years respectively. Chemistry had winners in 1996, 1997 and 1998; and Sir William Golding was the last literature laureate in 1983. See People, page 11

Please login or register to read this article.

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments

Most commented