Glittering prizes

February 16, 2001

The University of Glasgow has announced the following honorary degrees to celebrate its 550th anniversary.

Doctors of the university : HRH Otumfuo Osei Tutu II , king of Asante; former vice-principal Sir James Armour , emeritus professor of veterinary parasitology; former vice-principal Sir Michael Bond , emeritus professor of psychological medicine; Alan Brown , convener of the business committee, general council of the university; Menzies Campbell , politician; Kenneth Corsar , director of education for Glasgow; Alastair Denholm , lord dean of guild elect, Merchants House of Glasgow; Robin Easton , rector, High School of Glasgow; David Flint , emeritus professor of accountancy; former board adviser Frank Frame , solicitor; Eddie Friel , president, Glasgow Chamber of Commerce; Sam Galbraith , politician; George Horspool , deacon convener elect, Trades House of Glasgow; Robert Jack , emeritus professor of mercantile law; Charles Kennedy , politician; Sir Alan Langlands , principal, University of Dundee; Ross Lorimer , president, Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Glasgow; Bashir Ahmed Maan , community leader; Lord Macdonald of Tradeston , politician; Sir George Mathewson , deputy chairman, Royal Bank of Scotland; Colin Montgomerie , golfer; Sir John Orr , chief constable, Strathclyde Police; Craig Reedie , chairman, British Olympic Association; Harry Reid , former editor, The Herald; Muir Russell , permanent secretary, Scottish Executive; Lord Sanderson Of Bowden , chairman, Clydesdale Bank; Walter Semple , dean, Royal Faculty of Procurators in Glasgow; Richard Shaw , principal, University of Paisley; Sir Robert Haldane Smith , banker; Sir William Stewart , president, British Association for the Advancement of Science; Charles Murray Stuart , former chairman of Scottish Power; Jim Telfer , rugby manager and former Scottish coach; and Henry Wong , emeritus professor of aeronautical engineering.

Doctors of divinity : former university chaplain Michael Conway , principal, National Seminary; Zenon Cardinal Grocholewski , prefect, Congregation for Catholic Education, Seminaries and Institutes of Study; Richard Holloway , former primus, Scottish Episcopal church; John Miller , moderator-designate, General Assembly of the Church of Scotland; and Jonathan Sacks , chief rabbi, United Hebrew Congregations of the Commonwealth.

Doctors of laws : Andrew Cubie , former chairman of the independent committee of inquiry into student finance; Colin Lucas , vice-chancellor, University of Oxford; Alex Mosson , lord provost, Glasgow.

Doctors of letters : Elizabeth Blackadder , artist; John Byrne , dramatist and artist; Frances Cairncross , public policy editor, The Economist; Timothy Clifford , director, National Galleries of Scotland; Billy Connolly , actor and comedian; James Currie , director-general, environment and nuclear safety, European Commission; Ian Hamilton Finlay, artist and writer; Cyril Gerber , supporter of the arts; Sir Alex Ferguson , football manager; Hamish Henderson , singer and writer; Magnus Linklater , chairman, Scottish Arts Council; Magnus Magnusson , former chairman, Scottish Natural Heritage; Seona Reid , director, Glasgow School of Art; James Robertson , artist; Christopher Smout , director, institute for environmental history, University of St Andrews; and Kirsty Wark , broadcaster.

Doctors of science : Helen Bamber , founder and director, Medical Foundation for the Care of Victims of Torture; Sir John Gunn , emeritus professor; Sir David Jack , pharmacologist; Sir Keith Peters , regius professor of physic, University of Cambridge; and Richard Stallman , founder, Gnu Project and Free Software Foundation.

Doctors of engineering : John Burland , professor of soil mechanics and geotechnical engineering, Imperial College, London; Robert McKinlay , aeronautical engineer; Lin Chee Onn , executive chairman, Keppel Corporation; and Jackie Stewart , former racing driver.

Doctors of veterinary medicine and surgery : Judy MacArthur Clark , veterinary scientist; and Lord Soulsby of Swaffham Prior , emeritus professor of animal pathology, Cambridge.

Doctors of music : Richard Armstrong , music director, Scottish Opera; Evelyn Glennie , percussionist; Sir Philip Ledger , principal, Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama; James McMillan , composer; and Osmo Vanska , conductor, BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments