Glittering prizes

November 17, 2000

Jonathon Porritt is to receive an honorary degree of doctor of science from the University of the West of England in recognition of his contribution to environmental science and to the public understanding of related issues.

UWE is also to award honorary degrees to: Sir Donald Maitland (DLitt) for his contribution to the understanding of European international affairs and to Charles Pennock in recognition of his work in clinical biochemistry, his work at the Bristol Children's Hospital and Southmead Hospital, and his support for the Faculty of Sciences at UWE (DSc).

Richard Hoggart , former warden of Goldsmith's College, London, will receive an honorary degree at the University of London's Centenary Foundation Day for his services to education (DLitt).

The University of Teesside will award honorary degrees to: Harold Evans , former editor of The Sunday Times (DLitt); Deborah Dyer , lead singer of the pop group Skunk Anansie (MA); Elizabeth Carling , star of television programmes Boon and Goodnight Sweetheart (MA); Alistair Arkley , chair of the Tees Valley Partnership (LLM); Mackenzie Thorpe , a Middlesbrough-born artist (MA); and John Gardner , emeritus professor at the University of South Carolina, for his many years of work with the university (DLitt).

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments