Glittering prizes

September 8, 2000

Honorary graduates of the University of Leicester this year are: Gerald Bernbaum, vice-chancellor, South Bank University (LLD); Gautam Bodiwala, consultant surgeon, Leicester Royal Infirmary (DSc); Sue Campbell, chief executive, Youth Sport Trust (DLitt); Reg Carr, director, university library services (DLitt); Anthony Giddens, director, London School of Economics (DLitt); Jules LaPidus, president, United States Council of Graduate Schools (LLD); Dame Felicity Lott, soprano (DMus); Tom McKillop, chief executive, AstraZeneca (DSc); Dame Bridget Ogilvie, former director, Wellcome Trust (DSc); Sir Herman Ouseley, former chairman, Commission for Racial Equality (LLD); Sir John Stevens, commissioner, Metropolitan Police (LLD).

Goldsmiths College, University of London is conferring fellowships on the following: Geoffrey Copland, vice-chancellor, University of Westminster and former Goldsmiths member of staff; Constance Howard, textiles course in visual arts founder (posthumous fellowship); Colin Welland, actor, playwright and former student of Goldsmiths. Mstislav Rostropovich, former musical director and conductor, National Symphony Orchestra, Washington, is awarded an honorary degree (DMus).

Stephen Palmer, visiting professor in psychology at City University, has won the British Psychological Society's annual counselling psychology award.

Ambrose Field, music lecturer at York University, won first prize at the Bourges International Electronic Music Festival.

Among the winners of the European Awards for Languages, organised by the Centre for Information on Language Teaching and Research, are: Kingston College (the environment as a basis for learning languages project); Aberdeen College (bringing language teaching closer project); Alliance Francaise de Belfast; North Devon College (language workshop); Bolton Royd Adult Education Centre (basic education in community languages); Sandwell College, West Midlands School of Languages (business languages).

Winners of the National Organisation for Adult Learning adult tutor awards are: Sheila Andrew, basic skills teacher, Highpoint Prison (Eastern); Sarah Skidmore, course designer for students with learning difficulties (East Midlands); Roy Connell, volunteer tutor in basic skills (London); Philip Brown, community lecturer (Northeast); Frederick Broadhurst, University of Manchester (Northwest); Margaret Charlwood, teacher trainer, Medau Society (Southeast); Christine Harris, Open University associate science lecturer (Southwest); Ruth Tucker, music teacher, Neath College (Wales); Joycelyn Gronow, dyslexia tutor (West Midlands); Christine Wright, lip-reading teacher (Yorkshire and Humberside).

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments