Glasnost for science

March 20, 1998

GLASNOST has arrived at the Council for Science and Technology after accusations of secrecy. Under new terms of reference, it will publish an annual report and all its advice. The number of independent committee members has risen to 14 from 11, with seven of them new. Margaret Beckett, president of the Board of Trade, will chair the committee with Sir Robert May, the government's chief scientific adviser, as deputy.

New members are Sir Alec Broers, vice-chancellor of Cambridge University; Keith O'Nions, professor of physics and chemistry of minerals at Oxford University; Emma Rothschild, director of the Centre for History and Economics at Cambridge; Julia Higgins, professor of polymer science at Imperial College; Christopher Evans, founder of several biotechnology firms including Chiroscience and Celsis; Rob Margetts, ICI director; and David Potter, founder and chairman of Psion plc.

Register to continue

Why register?

  • Registration is free and only takes a moment
  • Once registered, you can read 3 articles a month
  • Sign up for our newsletter
Please Login or Register to read this article.


Featured jobs