Europe's leading research organisations pledge to strengthen ERA

October 29, 2003

Brussels, 28 Oct 2003

Seven of Europe's top research organisations have signed a statement of intent, along with the Commission, outlining their commitment to developing the European Research Area (ERA).

The seven organisations, which jointly constitute EIROforum, pledge, with the Commission, to explore synergies and conduct joint activities, facilitate exchanges and secondment of personnel, and build on this collaboration by concluding further bilateral agreements.

EU Research Commissioner, Philippe Busquin, along with the Directors-General of the EIROforum organisations, signed the statement of intent during a ceremony in Brussels on October.

'This statement of intent marks a new step towards the creation of the European Research Area,' said Mr Busquin. 'With Europe's best scientists working together in world class research infrastructures [...] EIROforum organisations, in collaboration with the European Commission, will play a decisive role in promoting the quality and consistency of European research.'

The seven EIROforum members are: the European organisation for nuclear research (CERN); the European fusion development agreement (EFDA); the European molecular biology laboratory (EMBL); the European space agency (ESA); the European southern observatory (ESO); the European synchrotron radiation facility (ESRF); and the Institut Laue-Langevin.

The goal of EIROforum is to play an active role in promoting the quality and impact of European research, and to act as the basis for effective, high level cooperation.

For further information, please consult the following web address:

CORDIS RTD-NEWS / © European Communities

Please login or register to read this article.

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments


Featured jobs

Innovation Broker

University Of Queensland

Planning Analyst

St Marys University, Twickenham

PhD Candidate in Political Behaviour

Norwegian University Of Science & Technology - Ntnu